PFAS Removal Guide
Best PFAS Water Filters (2026): Evidence-Based Guide
No filter should be assumed to remove every PFAS under every condition. This buyer’s guide compares compound-specific third-party results, test conditions, whole-house versus point-of-use coverage, mineral retention and published price. Mam Nature Swiss is our product, so ownership is disclosed and its evidence must meet the same stated criteria.
Disclosure: Mam Nature Swiss is our product and sells the first-ranked system. Scores were calculated with the published weights below on 1 September 2026. Competitor strengths, limitations and primary evidence links are shown directly; no affiliate commission is used.
How We Ranked
Scores compare the exact product and evidence cited, not an entire brand or filter technology. Whole-house coverage receives 20 points because this guide prioritises point-of-entry treatment; readers who only need drinking-water treatment should give less weight to that category. Ties are resolved by PFAS evidence quality, then compound breadth.
Quick Comparison
| # | Filter | Score | PFAS Evidence | Short-Chain | Coverage | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mam Nature Swiss Essential Plus | 86/100 | >96–>98.5% for 7 named PFAS | PFBA, PFHxA and PFBS tested | Whole house | €1,360 |
| 2 | Aquasana OptimH2O EQ-OPTM | 80/100 | 97.9% PFOA/PFOS | Not stated in cited sheet | Whole house | Check manufacturer |
| 3 | Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher | 78/100 | 95%–>99.8% across named results | PFBA, PFHxA and PFBS tested | Pitcher / drinking water | $110 one-time; $99 subscription |
| 4 | Brita Tahoe with Elite Filter | 75/100 | PFOA/PFOS claim in performance sheet | Not stated in cited sheet | Pitcher / drinking water | $41.99 |
| 5 | AquaTru Carafe | 70/100 | 99% average PFOA/PFOS | Not stated in cited sheet | Countertop / drinking water | Two-year filter pack $149.95 |
Detailed Rankings
Mam Nature Swiss Essential Plus
WHOLE-HOUSE PICKThe cited October 2025 report gives compound-specific results for PFBA, PFHxA, PFHpA, PFOA, PFBS, PFHxS and PFOS. The score rewards breadth and whole-house coverage but deducts points because the evidence is a laboratory report rather than an exact-model PFAS certification.
Best for: Homes wanting point-of-entry PFAS treatment plus sediment pre-filtration.
Limitations: Independent controlled single-pass report, not product certification; seven named PFAS only; performance depends on the documented conditions and cartridge loading.
Aquasana OptimH2O EQ-OPTM
CERTIFIED WHOLE-HOUSEThe manufacturer performance sheet states IAPMO certification to NSF P473 for 97.9% PFOA/PFOS reduction and identifies the exact EQ-OPTM model. It earns full evidence-quality points and loses breadth/value points where the cited sheet is silent.
Best for: US households prioritising certified whole-house PFOA/PFOS reduction.
Limitations: The cited certification claim covers PFOA/PFOS, not the broader short-chain panel used for the first-ranked system; current purchase price was not published on the cited sheet.
Clearly Filtered Water Pitcher
BROAD PFAS PANELThe public performance page identifies a 2025 test, rated 100-gallon capacity, laboratory context and a broad named PFAS panel. Its evidence breadth is strong, but it does not treat showers, appliances or other taps.
Best for: Renters or households seeking broad drinking-water test data without plumbing work.
Limitations: Point-of-use only. The page distinguishes NSF certification of the pitcher from additional accredited-lab contaminant testing; displayed values are controlled-lab maximum reductions.
Brita Tahoe with Elite Filter
LOWEST UPFRONT COSTBrita publishes an Elite-specific performance sheet and a 120-gallon replacement interval. The exact Elite filter matters: evidence for it should not be applied to every Brita cartridge.
Best for: Low-cost drinking-water treatment where the target compounds are PFOA/PFOS.
Limitations: Point-of-use only; do not infer performance for unlisted PFAS or for the Brita Original filter.
AquaTru Carafe
COUNTERTOP ROThe current performance sheet reports 99% average reduction for PFOA/PFOS under its stated test and lists separate cartridge and membrane schedules. Its certified evidence is strong, while coverage and mineral retention differ from whole-house adsorption systems.
Best for: Countertop reverse osmosis for drinking and cooking water.
Limitations: Point-of-use only; the cited PFAS result is for PFOA/PFOS, not every PFAS; RO creates a reject-water stream and reduces dissolved minerals.
Understanding PFAS
What are PFAS? Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances — a family of 12,000+ synthetic chemicals used since the 1940s in non-stick coatings, food packaging, textiles, and firefighting foam. They are called “forever chemicals” because they do not break down in the environment.
Why short-chain PFAS matter: Short-chain compounds such as PFBA, PFHxA and PFBS can behave differently from PFOA and PFOS. Compare filters using compound-specific results under stated test conditions.
EU drinking-water values now apply: Since 12 January 2026, the Drinking Water Directive applies 0.10 µg/L for the sum of 20 PFAS and 0.50 µg/L for PFAS Total. A filter score is not proof that treated water meets either value; verify the relevant compounds with accredited testing.
Common Questions
What PFAS evidence is published for Mam Nature?
The cited October 2025 report presents controlled single-pass results for seven named compounds: PFBA, PFHxA, PFHpA, PFOA, PFBS, PFHxS and PFOS. Measured reduction ranges from >96% to >98.5%, depending on the compound and detection limit. The result is not a claim for every PFAS and should be read with the report conditions and limitations.
Can activated carbon remove PFAS?
Activated carbon can reduce some PFAS, but performance varies by compound, media design, contact time, influent concentration and cartridge loading. Check product-specific third-party results for the compounds in your water rather than relying on a blanket claim for long- or short-chain PFAS.
What are short-chain PFAS and why do they matter?
Short-chain PFAS such as PFBA, PFHxA and PFBS can be more mobile in water and can behave differently in adsorption media than PFOA or PFOS. Compare named-compound results under the stated conditions. Since 12 January 2026, EU drinking-water values apply to a sum of 20 PFAS and to PFAS Total; a filter score alone does not establish compliance.
Do I need a whole-house filter to reduce PFAS?
Not necessarily. If your goal is only drinking and cooking water, an exact-model point-of-use filter certified for the PFAS found in your water may be the better fit. Whole-house treatment is a coverage choice for households that want treatment at every connected outlet; it should not be justified with unsupported claims about shower exposure.
How do I know if my water contains PFAS?
In Switzerland, cantonal laboratories publish water quality reports. In the EU, the revised Drinking Water Directive requires monitoring of 20 PFAS compounds. You can also request a water test from an accredited laboratory. PFAS contamination is more likely near airports, military bases, industrial zones, and areas where firefighting foam (AFFF) was used.
Detailed comparisons
Whole-House Option with Seven-Compound Test Results
Essential Plus uses the cartridge covered by the cited controlled single-pass report for seven named PFAS. Review the report conditions and your own water test before choosing a system.